First time in US

Posted: July 22, 2011 in Job, Travel

Can’t believe I’m in US for job training after just over a month of starting work. One of the reason I am here is because I am one of (kind of) only 2 software guys in Rovisys Asia. The other being Chao Yian. Why are we here? It is mainly to learn the coding standards in software coding that is used by the company. They hope that we will be able to pick up those software skills and go back to Singapore and continue to work on it there.

So far, I’ve been only here for a day. 2 days if you include the travelling. The flight itself took 24 hours going from Singapore to Hong Kong to Chicago to Cleveland. Most of the journey on the plane, I was sleeping, eating, watching movies. I tried to sleep as much as possible on the plane because I was afraid of the jetlag later. So far I haven’t really experienced the jetlag feeling although many people told me that it would take about 1 to 2 weeks to recover. But, seems like I’m doing fine so far, I think.

I have been to the workplace and oh my, Rovisys Company is so big here. There’s about 100+ employees. I don’t think I’ll ever meet all of them. But, at least those I’ll work with closely I’ll know them. The people are just great here. All very friendly and polite. Looking forward to working with them this one month.

Tomorrow the company is going to have a “College Kickback” event where they will all wear their college wear and they are having a Beer Bong contest. Beer Bong, from what I gathered is a college thing in US where they have beer in something and they let it go so the beer rushes quickly in. Pretty creepy the level the contestants go to. I heard some even kind of programmed a whole machine just to do that. Well, tomorrow I’ll see. πŸ™‚ By the way, as pointed out by my colleague in US, this company is probably the first company in US to be doing Beer Bong AND getting paid doing it. πŸ˜€

Til next time then.

Leave a comment